8.6 C
New York
Monday, August 2, 2021
Home Lifestyle Giller Foundation donates $50K to two organizations that support BIPOC writers

Giller Foundation donates $50K to two organizations that support BIPOC writers

The Giller Foundation, which is responsible for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, has made donations to the Indigenous Literary Studies Association (ILSA) and to Diaspora Dialogues. 

Each organization will receive $25,000.

The donation was inspired by the ongoing challenges society has faced in 2020, including the COVID-19 pandemic and the rise of protests for racial justice around the world.
“It is against this backdrop that the Giller Foundation has chosen to donate to each of these organizations, pledging its ongoing support of inclusivity, diversity, positive change and open dialogue,” the Giller Foundation said in a press release.

The Indigenous Literary Studies Association is an academic organization that focuses on teaching and studying Indigenous literature. They also organize the Indigenous Voices Awards, which annually recognize the works of emerging Indigenous writers in English, French and Indigenous languages.

Diaspora Dialogues helps emerging Black, Indigenous and other writers of colour hone their craft through mentorships, development workshops, events and residencies. They also publish TOK Magazine.

“Writers are the lifeblood of our creative communities and diversity is the vital spark that animates the world of literature,” Elana Rabinovitch, the executive director of the Giller Foundation, said in a statement.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is a $100,000 prize that annually recognizes the best in Canadian fiction. It is the richest literary prize in Canada.

Last year’s winner was Reproduction by Ian Williams.

Other past Giller Prize winners include Esi Edugyan for Washington Black, Michael Redhill for Bellevue SquareMargaret Atwood for Alias GraceMordecai Richler for Barney’s VersionAlice Munro for RunawayAndré Alexis for Fifteen Dogs and Madeleine Thien for Do Not Say We Have Nothing.

The 2020 jury is comprised of Canadian nonfiction writer Mark Sakamoto, Canadian novelists Eden Robinson, David Chariandy and Tom Rachman, and British critic Claire Armitstead.

The 2020 longlist will be announced on Sept. 8, the shortlist will be announced on Oct. 5 and the winner will be announced on Nov. 9.

Source link

Today news
Today News 1 runs four of the western GTA’s most influential media websites, offering news, food, lifestyle and entertainment coverage for millions to the Golden Horseshoe and GTA regions. The independently-run, online news source was founded in 2019 and specializes in everything from breaking news to food and restaurant, arts and entertainment and lifestyle coverage.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Rapper DaBaby cut from Lollapalooza music festival over recent homophobic comments

Rapper DaBaby was cut Sunday from Lollapalooza's closing lineup following crude and homophobic remarks he made last week at a Miami-area music festival....

Oilpatch revival underway with robust profits so far this year

After racking up debt in 2020, the Canadian oilpatch is enjoying a rebound so far this year as major oil producers are gushing...

Business travel isn’t expected to return to pre-pandemic levels anytime soon

Kacey Siskind recently took her first business trip to the U.S. since the pandemic began.  The vice-president of business development at Honk Mobile, a...

Pop star Kris Wu detained by Beijing police on suspicion of sexual assault

Chinese-Canadian pop star Kris Wu has been detained by Beijing police on suspicion of rape, police announced Saturday, following an accusation the former...

Recent Comments